BMW F800 Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

· Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi guys, I need your help, I wanted to connect the stop lights of the Givi top case to the FGT, but I have no idea how to make the connections, I'll use led lights. I'm no expert in this stuff... :(
Thank you
In the photo, the cables are coming out of the Givi
Vehicle Hood Car Motor vehicle Automotive design

· Registered
783 Posts
I used the Givi stop light kit, pretty easy to follow their instructions. I tapped direcly into the stop light for the power. As the topbox LEDs have such lower power consumption is does not trigger any dash alarms.

Image below is where I took power for the topbox stop light. Rear light with lens removed, blue wire is live black is earth.

· Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Did you drill the top of the taillight to run the wires through?
Isn't it possible to make a less invasive connection by intercepting the electrical system under the saddle?

· Registered
783 Posts
Did you drill the top of the taillight to run the wires through?
There were two drain/breather holes in the bottom of the lens I used those.

Isn't it possible to make a less invasive connection by intercepting the electrical system under the saddle?
I contemplated doing that, but it would have meant chopping into the original wiring. I felt the route I took was a lot less invasive.

· Registered
783 Posts
A standard uninsulated female spade electrical connector fitted into the holes as shown in the pics (it's not designed to it's just a happy coincidence), when I first did this, I considered it a temporary measure just to test if the topbox lights worked as expected without tripping alarms/error. I fully intended to use two "piggyback" connectors behind the lamp but the solution as shown has been fault free for 5 years so I've never felt the need to change it.

Reactions: Gsxf65

· Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·