BMW F800 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

· Premium Member
340 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My '13 GT with 42,000 miles seemed as bullet proof as my '07 ST which I sold well at 65,000 miles.
I ride when weather permits here at 7,000 feet, but this is the off time of winter.
She's been sitting for about 6-7 weeks in heated garage (40 degrees) so I started her and let run at idle for one cycle of fan.
All sounds good so, since she's on the center stand, I put her in 1st gear and let her spin. I've never tried that before.
What's that noise! clack, clack, clack increasing with rpm increase.
Disengaged clutch, noise stops. Engage clutch, noise continues.
Kneel down listening, both sides but more on clutch side it seems.
OK I must admit its first time i ever engaged 1st gear while on side stand so i have no experience to compare this to, I usually just ride away and may not have ever heard a cold clutch Clack, clack, clack ?
So any experienced advise about this?
Maybe my mistake was to hear cold clutch on center stand while in gear, 2nd gear same noise; neutral no noise.
Oh one more piece of data; Amsoil syn 15-50 changed religiously at 5000 miles, and happens to have only few hundred on current oil.
Any experienced advise welcome and Thank You

· Registered
109 Posts
I’m sure a member will be able t explain why so much noise but you describe the same feeling I had when I did the same … pretty scary noises !! Been doing this noise for years and no issue when riding . So I figured the clunky sound is “normal”

· Registered
1,703 Posts
For many years, the F800's were famous for two noises:
1]death rattle from engine for a few seconds after start up. Due to delay in oil pressure build up to engage the cam chain tensioner. Many years ago, BMW introduced a stronger back up spring in the tensioner (not a recall) --I had spring changed on my ST but made little improvement.